JCommander 1.83

Some weeks ago Cédric BEUST (the founder of JCommander, TestNG and GMail on Android) granted committer status to me, and appointed me as the release manager of JCommander. The first means, I can push commits into the Github repo. The second means, I can push releases into Maven Central. Cédric and me think this is the right move towards more frequent releases, and a more agile community, in the sense of “release early, release often”.

As my first official task I feel proud and honoured to announce that I have published JCommander 1.83 earlier this week.

Noticeable changes are the fact that you need to use the Maven Group ID org.jcommander from now on, and that this release contains an new feature: By implementing the new IParametersValidator interface you can write validation code that considers interdependent sets of options, so for example, when you need to ensure that –verbose is not used together with –quiet etc. Check out the recently updated online docs for more information about Global Parameter Validation. There is also a video about this feature on my Youtube channel.

Do you miss a feature in JCommander? Just drop me a note and I will consider implementing it!

About Markus Karg

Java Guru with +30 years of experience in professional software development. I travelled the whole world of IT, starting from Sinclair's great ZX Spectrum 48K, Commodore's 4040, over S/370, PCs since legendary XT, CP/M, VM/ESA, DOS, Windows (remember 3.1?), OS/2 WARP, Linux to Android and iOS... and still coding is my passion, and Java is my favourite drug!
This entry was posted in Java, Open Source, Programming, Projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.